As a team or group owner, you might receive an email* or ShareGate Teams chatbot notification that asks you to review guests and sharing links.
This notification is sent because your IT admin uses ShareGate to make sure that external sharing links and guest access are reviewed---and removed if no longer needed.
For more info, check out the FAQ Why am I receiving a notification to review guests and sharing links?
- How-to take action
- How long does the review last?
- What happens if there is more than 1 owner?
How-to take action
With ShareGate, your IT admin can send a review notification using the External sharing review policy, by setting custom reviews for sensitivity tags, or by sending a direct notification. Your review process is the same in all three situations.
When you receive the notification, it will include:
- The number of external sharing links and/or guests to review.
- The review timeline.
- A list of the teams and/or groups in the review.
- If a sensitivity tag applies to the teams and/or groups.
To get started:
- Click Start review (in the email) or Start external sharing review (in the chat) to open your personalized external sharing review dashboard.
Tip: If your teams/groups have a sensitivity tag that needs review, the dashboard prompts you to do so. For example, "It's time to review guests and external sharing links for the Confidential sensitivity tag!"
- Click Start Review.
If there are guests to review - Review the guests listed. Click Remove to remove a guest. Click Undo if you change your mind.
- When finished reviewing guests, click Review external sharing links at the bottom of the page or proceed to step (5).
- If there are external sharing links to review - Review the external sharing links listed. Click Delete to remove sharing links. Click Restore if you change your mind.
- When you're finished, click Complete review at the bottom of the page.
The confirmation page shows you when to expect the next review.
Your IT admin will receive notice that you have completed the review!
- You might notice a discrepancy between the notification and the review dashboard. The notification represents a snapshot of items at the time the review starts. Your review dashboard however reflects the current status of your teams and groups.
- Depending on your IT admin's Microsoft setup, you may be asked to review external sharing links or guests---or both!
- Removing a sharing link does not remove the content from your team/group.
Examples of the notifications you could receive from our chatbot or in your inbox:
How long does the review last?
You have 14 days from the day the first notification is sent to perform an external sharing review. The first notification is sent at the start of the review, followed by a reminder email 7 days later if the review is not complete.
For security purposes, the links in the notifications expire after 7 days.
What happens if there is more than 1 owner?
The review exists on a first-come, first-served basis. If an owner reviews a team or group, the other owners will see that the review has been completed.
If you think you or another owner made a mistake, contact your IT team so they can make the right changes.